Maybe you need to take a break from using Facebook. Or maybe you haven’t used your Facebook account for a while and don’t plan to do so in the future. Whatever your reasons, you should know that you have two clear options when it comes to deleting Facebook.
If you just need a break and you will need your account in the future, you can deactivate your Facebook account. If you have moved on to greener social media areas or you no longer need your account, you can also delete your Facebook account.
In this guide, we’ll learn what each option includes and how to use them. Let’s take a closer look at how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account.
Note: If you are planning to delete your Facebook account, you may consider downloading your Facebook account information first. If keeping a copy of that information is important to you, you should request a copy from Facebook. Take a look at Facebook’s official guide on how to request and download a copy of your Facebook account information.
What is the difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook account?
As we mentioned earlier, you have two options to say goodbye to Facebook and it all depends on how long you want to stay away from this platform. If you are absolutely sure that this is a permanent goodbye, you can delete your Facebook account. But if you know you’re going to come back to it, it’s better to deactivate your account. Here’s what to expect from each option:
deleting my facebook account
This is a permanent goodbye option. If you choose to delete your account, you will lose access to that account 30 days after you send the deletion request. According to its own Help Center guide, Facebook gives you up to 30 days to change your mind after a request, but after that it’s over. Account has expired. Not only the main profile of the account, but all your Facebook profiles under that account will also be deleted. You will not be able to log in to any third-party apps that you used your Facebook account to log in to. All your content will be deleted, except the messages you sent.
deactivating my facebook account
This is a meet you later option. This is the option you use if you know you’ll come back to Facebook at some point, but right now you just need some time. With this option, you will always have the ability to reactivate and access your account. When deactivated, your profile will not be visible to anyone and if you have a Facebook Page, that page will also be deactivated. Deactivating doesn’t affect third-party apps you use Facebook to log in to. Facebook Messenger will still be available to you.
How to deactivate your Facebook account
The following steps involve the Account Center to deactivate your Facebook account. If for some reason you don’t have access to the Account Center, check out Facebook’s Help Center guide on how to deactivate your account through Facebook Settings instead.
step 1: Once you are logged in to the Facebook account you want to deactivate, select your profile picture icon In the top right corner. Then in the menu that appears, select Settings & Privacy , Adjustment,
step 2: You should see a section labeled accounting center In the upper left corner. If you do this, select accounting center,
step 3: On the Accounting Center screen, select personal details , Account Ownership and Control,
step 4: On the screen that pops up, select deactivation or deletion, Then select the account you want to deactivate from the options presented.
Step 5: choose Deactivate Account On the next screen. then select continue,
You will then be presented with a series of screens asking you to repeatedly confirm deactivation and answer a few questions. Do this. Continue until you finally deactivate the account.
That’s it. Your account should now be deactivated.
How to delete your facebook account
Like the deactivation method above, the steps below involve Accounts Center. If you can’t access the Account Center, you’ll need to use Facebook’s alternative method of deletion which can be accomplished through Facebook Settings.
step 1: Log in to your Facebook account and then select your profile picture icon In the top right corner. From the menu that appears, select Settings & Privacy And then Adjustment,
step 2: The Accounts Center section should be at the top left. choose accounting center,
step 3: choose personal details and then choose Account Ownership and Control, Then a menu will appear, select deactivation or deletion,
step 4: On the next screen select the account you want to permanently delete.
Step 5: choose delete account choose more continue,
You will then be guided through a series of screens asking you to confirm your decision to delete your Facebook account. During this process you will be asked questions and given the opportunity to do things like download or transfer copies of your Facebook information. Read all these screens carefully and download your account data if you wish. Continue moving through these screens until you reach the final confirmation screen. Once you confirm your deletion request at this point, the request is officially sent.
That’s it. Your Facebook account will be deleted after 30 days. You can cancel the deletion at any time within those 30 days.
questions to ask
What is the fastest way to delete Facebook account?
When it comes to deleting your Facebook account, it’s really less about speed and more about which method is available to you. If you have access to Meta’s Accounting Center, you will use the methods described above. If you don’t have access to the Account Center, you’ll use another method that will take you through Facebook Settings.
Where is the delete account button on Facebook?
Again, this depends on whether you have access to the Account Center or not. If you do, then delete account After you select the button you will get during the process of deleting account deactivation or deletion option, under which Account Ownership and Control,
If you don’t have access to the Account Center, according to the Facebook Help Center, you should find it in Facebook Settings after selecting Deactivation and deletion which is located within your facebook information,